United Kingdom: Registered Travel scheme expanded; lane closures announced

The Registered Traveller scheme has been expanded to more UK airports and is now available at the following locations:

  • Luton
  • Birmingham
  • Edinburgh
  • East Midlands airport
  • Gatwick
  • Glasgow
  • Heathrow
  • London City
  • Manchester
  • Stansted
  • International rail terminals in Paris, Brussels and Lille.

Important Changes at Heathrow and Gatwick Airports

At Heathrow Airport, 25 additional ePassport gates are being installed at terminals 3 and 4. The installation is expected to be completed by the summer of 2016.  While the work is in progress, Registered Travellers will not be able to use the ePassport gates but will be permitted to use UK/EU lanes and the Fast Track lanes instead.

At Gatwick Airport, starting January 4, 2016, the Registered Traveller lanes will be closed. Registered Travellers should use the UK/EU lanes at the North and South terminals. Those with a biometric passport will also be able to use the ePassport gates at both terminals.

What This Means for Foreign Nationals

Registered Traveller program members should benefit from the expanded services and should note the lane closures and related temporary measures.