Taiwan: Electronic visa application system launched

Taiwan has launched an electronic visa application system (eVisa) for business visitors and tourists, allowing nationals of 27 countries to apply for visas online without visiting a consular post.

Paper applications will still be accepted at Taiwanese consular posts.

Eligible Nationals

The 27 countries whose nationals are eligible for the eVisa are:

  • Belize
  • Brunei
  • Burkina Faso
  • Colombia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Kiribati
  • Macedonia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Nauru
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Christopher and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Solomon Islands
  • Swaziland
  • Turkey
  • Tuvalu

Visa Information

The eVisa offers an unextendable 30-day single-entry stay. Aside from tourism and business visitors, eligible visiting relatives and international conference or sporting event attendees can also utilize the eVisa system.  The eVisa is expected to be processed within one to two days.

The eVisa may not be used for Alien Resident Certificate applicants in Taiwan.

What This Means for Employers and Foreign Nationals

Foreign nationals utilizing the eVisa option for business and tourist visits will not have to visit a Taiwanese consular post and should therefore benefit from a streamlined application method.