EU: Temporary border controls introduced and extended

Due to the introduction and continuation of border controls in the European Union, travellers to Denmark, Belgium and other EU countries will need to present travel documents to enter from another Schengen country.

Belgian Border Controls Implemented

Belgium has instituted border controls at its borders with France.  The security checks will remain in place until at least March 23, 2016.

Danish Border Controls Extended

Travellers to Denmark will need to present travel documents to enter Denmark from another Schengen country through Copenhagen Airport and Copenhagen's railway stations, according to a decision to extend the temporary border controls for a third time from February 23 until March 4, 2016.


The extended border controls come in light of the European Union’s struggle with an influx of asylum seekers.

The European Council has stressed the importance of reaching an agreement on the proposed draft regulations from the European Commission, which aim to strengthen the European Union's external borders and to protect the Schengen area against security threats. Such proposals include the establishment of a European Border and Coast Guard and systematic checks against relevant databases for all travellers (including EU citizens) entering or exiting the Schengen area. The next step of the discussions would be negotiations between the Council of Home Affairs and the European Parliament.

What This Means for Foreign Nationals

The security checks will likely cause travel delays for EU and non-EU travellers into the Schengen area, especially from Germany to Denmark, at Danish ferry ports and train stations and at Belgium’s border with France. Travellers should be prepared to present valid travel documentation upon entry and exit, including visas and work permit documentation, and should account for travel delays, especially when crossing external borders in the Schengen area.